One-year Anniversary

Dearest family, friends, and lovely people, 

 
Cute story of the Week: Our Ward Mission Leader’s granddaughter has given us a name…we are now the “Misha-fairies”. Mostly it’s just because she can’t pronounce “Missionaries” but I think that it’s so stinkin’ cute.I think that should be the official name right now. It’s much more fitting. 
 
So, here’s something that will blow your mind. One year ago, today, I was set-apart as a missionary by President Erickson. I gave my farewell talk one year ago yesterday, and I will have gone into the MTC exactly one year ago on Wednesday. WHAT THE HECK?! So much has happened over the past year, and at times, it’s been slower than molasses, but it’s been SO speedy at the same time. I’ve definitely learned a lot, and grown so much as a person. I still have so much more to learn, but now I realize that I don’t have to learn *everything* I need to know for the rest of my life on my mission! This whole mortal experience is a growing experience, and I will continue to learn at home and throughout my life! 
 
Janet and Norm are doing so miraculously well! They both passed their baptism interviews last night, and are fully prepared to be baptized next week. Their conversion story has really changed the way that I do missionary work. Their examples of faith and courage I will always remember. I fully intend on coming back to Canada when they go through the temple for the first time. They are planning a trip as well to go and see Utah and Idaho in a couple of years. THAT will be cool. I’m just so blessed to have seen them change and work towards baptism! They will see so many blessings in their lives when they are baptized! Excited to see them continue to grow and share the gospel with their friends and family! 
 
Do you want to know my least favorite thing about missionary work? Seeing people get into Anti-mormon Material. I HATE ANTI. It is legitimately of Satan. okay. Rant over. Just stay out of it. 
 
There is this 12 year old boy, Ethan that lives with his Grandma(she has full custody of him) and he has refused to be baptized for a while now.  He goes to church every single week, he just hasn’t been baptized. He is a very sweet kid, but with some social anxiety and some learning disabilities. BUT, because Sister Prescott and I have been here for so long, he is finally opening up to us and acknowledging our existence (which is a big deal, let me tell ya). We sat down and talked with him seriously last week and he committed to be baptized on March 1st! That was seriously one of the biggest miracles that I have seen on my mission. I realize how much my former job helped me teach him as well (I worked with kids and adults with disabilities). The Lord definitely prepares us for other times in our lives! I thank Heavenly Father that I am having these experiences! 
 
Anyways, I better go, but I love you all! 
 
Go Team U.S.A.! Win those golds! I mean, I guess Canada is pretty cool too… 😉 
 
Happy Valentine’s Day! 
 
Love, 
Sister Colvin 
Leave a Reply

