Primary songs come in handy on the mission!

Dearest family, friends, and people that I absolutely love, 

 
What a crazy week! So many things happened, and I don’t even know where to begin! 
 
I’m actually pretty sick (fever,chills,headache, sore throat, plugged-up face, etc) and so I apologize in advance if I don’t make sense or there are many spelling errors. One thing that I have come to appreciate about Canada is the fact that you can go to a normal grocery store and buy NyQuil with codine in it…it really does help you feel not so sick! 🙂 
 
The weather this past week has been unparalleled in my life up to this point. On Tuesday it was -45 degrees Fahrenheit. Yes. It was that cold. If you were outside for more than 5 minutes, your skin started to freeze. And then you got frostbite within 15 minutes. But, don’t worry, I still have all my fingers and toes. But, boy, am I glad that I got warm socks for Christmas. YIKES. And then the next few days happened…and it was just proof that Canadian weather is bipolar. We had thick fog, freezing rain, normal rain, snow, and blue skies all within 3 days of each other. No one can convince me that is normal. 
 
I got to go on exchanges on Wednesday afternoon with Sister Griffin in Brantford! Brantford is about 45 minutes away from KW, and about 30 minutes away from Simcoe. You have no idea how badly I just wanted to be like…”And…we’re going back to my homeland…Simcoe!” But, I would actually never do that…because that would be so bad…but I miss it there so much! I had such a fun day in Brantford! We got to teach quite a few people (which I honestly haven’t been able to do recently…because there aren’t a lot of people to teach…) and it felt so nice to be able to bear my testimony to others! The day was crazy, but there were some hilarious moments! We were talking to this potential investigator, and he was talking to us about a book in the bible, but he couldn’t remember which one it was. He asked us if we knew the books in the bible…I know the songs! So, here I was, in wet rainy weather, talking to a strange middle-aged man, in a different county, singing songs that I learned in Primary. Thank my primary teachers for that one! Life is so weird as a missionary. 😛 
 
We had Zone Training this week as well! It was nice to learn from our Zone Leaders and to learn what we can do differently in our individual areas. They basically told us that we needed to be better. We were in a slump, and the Lord commanded that we get out of it. A little intense…but necessary for all of us to get *excited* about being missionaries. The Zone KILLED it this week. We (as a zone) found 41 new investigators this week! That is absolutely incredible! Sister Prescott and I also achieved the Standards of Excellence for this mission, which we haven’t done since being companions! It is so nice to be able to see the fruits of our efforts finally coming into action. 
 
I just wanted to talk about Janet and Norm for a second. They are the most PREPARED people that I have taught on my ENTIRE MISSION. Norm set a baptism date. April 6, 2014. He will be quitting smoking by mid-February. He has come to church 3 times, worn his suit twice, and absolutely loved it. He pays tithing. And finished Alma yesterday. My favorite quote by him; “The Book of Mormon should be next to everyone’s bibles. Especially the Catholics. Because they could use the extra guidance.” 🙂 He is absolutely incredible, and they are feeding us dinner next week. 🙂 I think the most incredible thing is that he has made a complete 360 degree change since even a month ago. He wouldn’t even listen to us at the beginning, and then he started to read “The Book of Mormon”…and it was over after that. He said that “The Book of Mormon” has completely changed his life and that he has ‘”read more of the word of God in the past 2 weeks, than I have in my entire life”. MIRACULOUS. Janet is still looking for a new job. Her baptism date is February 16, 2014. She is progressing so much. We were talking about wearing white at our baptism to signify purity, and she just starts giggling. She then showed us what she wore to her baptism last summer. Sister Prescott and I looked at it..looked at each other…looked at Norm…and burst into LAUGHTER. It was so funny. She wore a black shirt that said, “Follow Jesus. Love God. Love People”. We were absolutely crying with giddiness. 🙂 SO FUNNY! 
 
We also had 5 less-active members come to church yesterday! That’s a flippin’ miracle in itself! I was so ecstatic to see them come, and they said that they felt so welcomed (which was one of the main reasons why they were not coming). It was awesome! 
 
Well, I gots to go. I need to take a nap and sleep this horrid cold/whatever it is off. 🙂 
 
I love you all and appreciate all that you do for me! 
 
Love always, 
Sister Colvin 
One thought on “Primary songs come in handy on the mission!

Leave a Reply

