Christmas in the mission field

Dearest Family and friends, 

 
You know when you see those massive storms on the television, and you realize that they’re bad, but you’re not in them, so you don’t really think about it? Well…on Saturday and Sunday of this past week, this area got NAILED with a MASSIVE ice storm! I had one of those moments when I realized that these things actually do happen. We woke up on Sunday  morning, and followed our schedule just like we do any other day. We were planning on teaching Sunday School and Relief Society, and I was just about to start reading the lesson…when the power went out. We thought it would only be for a couple of hours…but then the Bishop called us and told us that church was cancelled because the weather was so poor. And then it started to get cold, and trees were starting to fall down…everywhere! We did not have power from 7:30AM that morning until 7:00PM that night. We went over to some members homes for a couple of hours (mainly because we had no heat) and then we walked around in the ice storm…because we’re missionaries…and that’s what we do. Don’t worry, though, we were very careful not to have tree limbs fall on top of us, or for cars to run us over. We were very cautious. 🙂 It was a crazy experience, that I will never forget! We are just very grateful that we were safe, and that we have power now. Because that would have been a completely different issue altogether. Southern Ontario got the brunt of the storm, and hopefully, the ice can melt off so that we can feel more comfortable driving around in it. We’ll see what happens. 
 
Can you even believe that it is Christmas already? It just seems like yesterday when I was packing/preparing things for my mission at home in little ol’ Rexburg, Idaho last Christmas. Who would have thought that I would be in Kitchener, Ontario, Canada one year later? Time seems to be picking up more and more lately as I realize how little time in life we really do have. I mean, heck, it will be 10 years from now, and I will still be feeling like I should be in Kitchener, Ontario for Christmas. I guess that all I can do is to cherish every moment…ice storms included. 
 
We did not teach any investigator lessons this week. Mostly because everyone is busy with the holidays and such, and they really don’t have time to meet with us. It’s hard for us because we don’t do anything else all day…this is all that we do! We just want to teach you about Christ…let us flippin’ meet with you! But, hey, that’s not very Christ-like of me…so I should probably repent of that. We have been able to meet with some less active members this week, though, and that has been SO good. We’ve been singing Christmas songs, and really teaching about the true meaning of Christmas! We got to go and sing at this member’s “Coffee Club” at the co-operative where she lives at, and there were about 20 people there! I got to sing “Angels We Have Heard on High” and then Sister Prescott and I sang a couple of carols together. It was a lot of fun, and these people were stunned that 2 young women could get up there and talk about Christ and sing some Christmas songs. It’s good to surprise people. 🙂 It is very neat to share our testimonies through song. I’ve noticed that people are always more receptive to it as well. That reminds me of a story of when I was with Sister Taylor in Simcoe! We were teaching this one couple, and they weren’t really “feeling it” per say. So, I turned to Sister Taylor and said, “We are now going to sing a song called ‘Joseph Smith’s First Prayer’ and then ‘The Spirit of God’.” That spirit there was so strong as we sang those songs! Music really does touch people in ways that words cannot. It’s been a lot of fun to use the Christmas songs in the Hymnbook to talk to people this time of year. I am sad that I won’t be here next year! Oh, well, more missionary work to do back at home! 
 
I hope that you all have a wonderfully Merry Christmas with lots of snow and hot chocolate! I’m so grateful to know you all.I LOVE Christmas, and I wish you could be here with me to experience all of the joy and happiness that comes from serving a mission at Christmas time. I miss you all so much, and is definitely hard to be without you. But I am so happy, and so blessed to have all of you supporting me. I get to share the Savior’s love with hundreds of people every month, and I get to see them developing the happiness that I have been blessed with my whole life. How great is this time! 
 
I love you all so much! 
 
Love always, 
Sister Colvin 
Leave a Reply

