Trying to keep warm!

Dearest family and friends, 

 
Do you remember that one time when I thought I could never in my entire life make it to December? Remember how it is December 2nd today? It is absolutely crazy how I thought at the beginning of my mission that December was forever away…and here it is…rearing its ugly head! 
 
The weather has stabilized a bit and settled at…cold. And colder. I’m getting more and more used to having my fingers turn purple and my skin feel tingly. The only thing that gets me through it is to imagine myself on a hot beach wearing flip-flops and lathering sunscreen on my nose. However, I’m going to regret saying this when summer comes around again…and the humidity just wants to kill me. I guess that I should be more grateful for the cold. That’s something that I can work on. 🙂 
 
I hope that everyone had a wonderful American Thanksgiving! We have some Americans here in this ward, and they invited us over for Thanksgiving dinner! There were a bunch of Americans there, and so much laughter! It was really fun to have a traditional Thanksgiving meal on a day when we normally would have been home partying with our families! The holidays are really about family…and this year…I enjoyed it with my ward family! We also decorated gingerbread houses and sang some Christmas songs! It was so much fun! 
 
We are teaching 4 people right now, which is the most we have had in a while. All of their situations are delicate, and so I probably won’t be able to talk about what they need help with because I want to respect their privacy and their personal struggles. HOWEVER, they are all so amazing, and very prepared. I’ve been blessed to be able to help them progress in the gospel. 
 
This next week brings many crazy things! Ward Christmas Party, a Relief Society Activity, the 1st Presidency Christmas Devotional, Zone Conference, and a lot of appointments! I’m very excited because this week is going to be gone once it begins! We have so many things to do this week! Hopefully everything works out, and we will get done what we need to. 
 
Quote of the Week: “Why am I not in South America again?” 
 
Food of the Week:  Sweet Potato Sloppy-Joes…SO GOOD! 
 
Anyways, I love you all so much, and stay warm! Peace out until next week! 
 
Love, 
Sister Colvin 
Leave a Reply

