Time is flying…

Dearest family and friends,

 
TOMORROW I WILL HAVE BEEN ON MY MISSION FOR EXACTLY NINE WHOLE FLIPPIN’ MONTHS. AND I DON’T KNOW WHAT I AM GOING TO DO WITH  MYSELF. I JUST GOT ON MY MISSION. AND I HAVE SO MUCH MORE TO LEARN. AND I JUST NEED ANOTHER COUPLE OF YEARS TO GET MY ACT TOGETHER. AND THEN I CAN GO HOME. Okay. Rant over. But really, I know people say that the Lord works in mysterious ways…and that is probably true…but TIME works in mysterious ways while you are on your mission. The days feel forever long…and yet they always end…and before you know it…it’s another Pday! And you’re emailing your family all of these things that have happened in the last week…and it all just feels like a blur. And sometimes I still wake up in the morning and groggily ask “Where am I? I don’t go to work until 9…why am I up at 6:30?” And then reality hits. I AM In CANADA. And I’ve been here for a while. I know that these next 9 months will be vastly important in my growth and knowledge that I will gain and take throughout the rest of my life. I will cherish this opportunity I have to serve the Lord. I know that he is preparing me for the rest of my life! 
 
This week I had a nasty allergic reaction to some face-wash that I started using. I woke-up one morning and my face was all red, washy, puffy,swollen,dry,itchy, etc. It was absolutely disgusting. I looked like a walking pimple. But, after some Benadryl and 24 hours, it died down quite a bit. The people I talked to that day…probably thought I had a disease or something like that. Ha. Luckily, I don’t have it anymore. 
 
This week we had several unexpected service opportunities that really made my week! One day we were walking along the road, and on the other side of the street we saw this older couple trying to move their wood from their driveway to a little side porch/room thingy. We dashed over across the street and asked if we could help. They were very hesitant at first, but eventually let us! We found out the Verna May was 89, and her husband, Aiden was 90. We helped them for about an hour move a HUGE pile of wood, and they were so grateful! It made me realize how much we really do represent Jesus Christ! They said that we “must be angels”. How cute is that?! They were the sweetest things. 
 
We also had Stake Conference this weekend, and it was spectacular. Elder Erich Kopishcke spoke and reorganized the Stake Presidency (Watch his latest talk! http://www.lds.org/general-conference/2013/04/being-accepted-of-the-lord?lang=eng&query=) He is an amazing speaker…and I learned so much! He talked a lot about remembering…and how when we remember Jesus Christ our lives are infinitely blessed. I really felt the Spirit, and I learned a lot of what I need to do to “remember” the Lord more in my life. 
 
We will be having a baptism on the 23rd of this month! Pedro has decided to be baptized! His dad is an excommunicated member who will be baptized on that day as well! They are Brazilian and we are basically going to have a big, huge, Brazilian Baptism party! 🙂 It will be great to see them make those sacred covenants with God. 
 
Quote of the Week: “Oh. You didn’t know? I’m a famous Bollywood movie star!” 
 
Food of the Week: Dulce de Leche Rice Pudding…so good. But so…bad for you…. 
 
Also, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO THE BEST DAD IN THE WHOLE WORLD. I don’t know what I would do without you. You’re the best, and I love you so much! I hope that your day was wonderful! 
 
Love always, 
Sister Colvin 
 
p.s. Be Happy! 
 
One thought on “Time is flying…

Leave a Reply

