A Canadian Thanksgiving: Sister Colvin gives thanks…

Dearest Family and Friends, 

 
Things that Happened This Week: 
 
1) HECTOR. From Honduras. We were waiting for our bus at the Charles Street Terminal in Downtown Kitchener. We had about 15 minutes, so we decided to go and see Victoria Park (infamous in the city of Kitchener). It was about 1 minute away. We sit on a park bench, and are enjoying the beautiful weather and calling some people that we needed to get a hold of. Then this older man comes up on his bike and starts talking to us. “Hey, you like Jesus?” Well, yes. I quite like Jesus. We answered in the affirmative. He asked us if we were church people. Yes. “We’re from The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.” He answered “OH. I am a member of that church. But only in Honduras.” I guess scratch that whole “world-wide” thing in this situation. He then started to tell us that we were “So beautiful, and we were just…so beautiful…beautiful…” He then told us that I was more beautiful than Sister Prescott (LIES) but that Sister Prescott shouldn’t be jealous because she was “one hot pepper”. He eventually started to get more verbally aggressive, so we just got up and left. He didn’t follow us…probably because he was so wasted he couldn’t form a complete sentence. AND THAT, my friends, is why Sisters don’t serve in Downtown areas very often. 😉 
 
2) LANDMARKS! We went to this cool bridge this week (it was really close to a member’s home). It is called “Kissing Bridge”(I really wonder, why…? haha).It is the last covered bridge in Ontario–and it is really cool! 
 
3) WEATHER.The weather this week has been brutally…bipolar! Mostly it just rains, but it is also really cold. I might go invest in some rainboots today, because my feet just get so wet, and it’s not cold enough to wear my honkin’ snow boots! I really love the rain, though! It makes life so much more exciting…especially as a walking missionary! ( We haven’t had the car at all this week) 😉 But, I’m not complaining. 
 
4) We did some service this week for a less-active sister in the ward. She was a chain-smoker for 20 years ( 3 packs a day..yikes!) and we were cleaning her walls. The difference was astounding. I also drew a heart with my sponge just to see the difference! We will be going back next week to tackle more of her walls…because we barely made a difference! This is when bleach comes in. 😉 
 
5) CANADIAN THANKSGIVING! It was such a blast, even though P-Day was pushed back. 🙂 We did service that morning, rode on a bus, ate pie with a recent convert, and then had dinner at the Mitchells (who are from Utah, so it is *almost* like being home!) 🙂 It was such a great day! 
 
As far as missionary work is going, the work is slow in this area. We don’t have any investigators, HOWEVER, we have met some wonderful people that we are going to talk to this week. I know that there are prepared people that are ready to receive this message and fully find the happiness that comes from relying on Jesus Christ and the Atonement. I know that this has blessed my life so much, and I am ecstatic to be able to share that with everyone that we meet! This week is going to be great, and we are going to find people to teach! After all, “Nothing happens in missionary work until you find people to teach”. 
 
In honor of Canadian Thanksgiving this week, I have written a list of 20 things that I am grateful for! 
 
1- Macaroni and Cheese: I live off this stuff. It’s soooo good. 
2- Hot Showers: You never really appreciate these…until you don’t have them. 
3- Glasses/Contacts: So that I can see! 
4- Beautiful Days: The leaves are so beautiful right now! Oranges, Reds, and Yellows! 
5- Life-long Friends: You know who you are. 
6- Ancestors: Because of them…I am here. 
7- Scriptures: They can lead everyone who reads them. Especially me! 
8- Blisters on my feet: It means that I am working hard. 
9- My watch tan-line: I am able to be outside and talk to as many people as I can.  
10- Tylenol: It means that I worked until I was in pain! 🙂 Perseverance! 
11- Uplifting Music: There is sunshine in my soul today! No more Lady Gaga for me! (amen). 
12- Laughter: I believe this one is self-explanatory. Be happy! 
13- PRAYER: This is my life-line. Now, I just wish everyone would realize this. 
14- Standards and Commandments: Without these, I would be a completely different Hannah. 
15- My Past- I wouldn’t change one bit of it. It has made me who I am. 
16- CANADA: I’m turning into a real “Canuck”. 
17- My Name-Tag: How grateful I am to be a missionary and to bear his name! 
18- My Mission Companions: Each one has taught me valuable lessons. 
19- Family: They are a rock in my life. 
20- The Gospel of Jesus Christ: THE GREATEST BLESSING IN MY LIFE. 
 
Anyways, I hope you all have a wonderful day, and I will talk to ya’ll in a few days (Monday)!
 
Love Always, 
Sister Colvin 
 
Leave a Reply

