A momentous year…

Dear family and friends, 

 
Almost one year ago, I was lounging around the house in my bathrobe. I had toast for breakfast, and I was so grateful that I didn’t have to work that day. My family sat down in our family room to watch the first session of General Conference. I was sitting by my Mom. I had my scriptures in my lap, and honestly? I wasn’t paying that much attention during the opening prayer and song. When President Monson got up to give the “opening statement”, I sat up a little bit straighter. What temples were going to be announced?  I got my notebook and pen out. We all know what happened next…” As we have prayerfully pondered the age at which young men may begin their missionary service, we have also given consideration to the age at which a young woman might serve. Today I am pleased to announce that able, worthy young women who have the desire to serve may be recommended for missionary service beginning at age 19, instead of age 21.”  My heart legitimately stopped and this sudden warmth filled my soul. I knew immediately what I was supposed to do. Tears flowed down my face as I considered how this would change my life. Within 5 minutes, I went into my bedroom, changed into some “real clothes”, grabbed my phone to talk with some friends (I needed that support at that moment), and sat down with my family and talked about all this. What did the Lord want me to do? I knew that I was supposed to go…but it was overwhelming at first to think that I would actually serve a mission. Leave my family, school, and fully rely on Jesus Christ. The next month and a half were extremely hard for me. Complications with my papers, work, and everything else just seemed to weigh on me. I thought that if I was really supposed to go on a mission, that the Lord would provide a way. I was so frustrated, but, eventually, my papers were submitted, and then the wait was on. I received my call on December 6, 2012. I was called to serve in the Canada Toronto Mission. At that moment, I knew that all the pain and anguish that I had experienced was completely worth it. This is where the Lord needed me. And I was going to serve him to the best of my ability. Fast Forward 12 months, and I was sitting in a chapel in Kitchener. As President Monson got up and gave the opening statement, my mind drifted back to one year ago when my life was changed.  I know that this is the time that I was needed to serve the Lord with all my heart, might, mind, and strength. How precious this time has been to me. And how much more meaningful will this mean to me in 9 months when I am home?! This past year has flown by, and I can barely comprehend how much I have changed over the past months. I know that if I keep pressing forward that I will become the missionary that the Lord needs me to be to fully help other children of his to come unto his Son, Jesus Christ.  What a wonderful and great day to live in, eh? Here’s to another year! 
 
On another note, the weather this week has been so rainy and cold. Quite miserable, in fact. We have been blessed this week, however, with compassionate Elders who let us use the car this whole week. They are so great! It’s starting to get chilly…and I am looking more and more forward to Christmas and the wonderful things that go along with it. No snow yet…though. I’m just waiting to pull out my huge snow boots. 🙂 
 
The work here in Kitchener/Waterloo East is slowly but surely moving along. We demonstrated a lot of faith this week…by dropping almost all of the investigators that we were teaching. They just weren’t meeting with us for the right reasons, and weren’t interested in converting. We are going to concentrate on finding this week–and we are going to find some precious souls that are ready to enter into the waters of baptism this transfer! Here we go! 
 
I’m sure you’re going to hear this from every missionary that is out in the field–but General Conference was amazing! I definitely learned a lot, and gained some pretty serious direction in my life! One thing that I did differently this time was just focus on what I felt I needed to write down. It resulted in less notes…but I had quite a few interesting thoughts and ideas come to my mind. Weird, how things work out, eh? 
 
Anyways, it’s time to go and get the car! Halle-freakin-lujah! I love you all, and have a great week! 
 
Love Always, 
Sister Colvin 
 
 
Leave a Reply

