Aches and pains…

Dearest family, friends, and wonderful, wonderful people that I will meet someday,
 
I don’t think that I have ever been more tired in my life. I wake up…and all I really want to do is go back to bed and sleep for many, many hours. But, somehow, someway, I find a way to keep going. I usually just get up and start doing jumping jacks and that wakes me up real quick. haha. Oh, the life of a missionary. We mostly don’t sleep because we are restless and stressed out about everything. But, the Lord is going to bless us for trying our best to move forward with faith…and dark circles under our eyes. 🙂
 
This week we did something that I thought I would never have to do…bike more than 85 kilometers in 3 days! We still have our Subaru, but Sister Taylor has always wanted to be a biking missionary, and I guess this is the area to do it in. My bum hurts more than it ever has before…my arms feel like jelly…my calves and thighs have been convulsing for the past 4 days…but it’s all good. 🙂 I have a feeling that this transfer I am going to get more in shape. Hallelu.
 
Emily Nixon was confirmed this past Sunday! I was so happy for her and the promise that she has made with Heavenly Father. I feel as if she has just started a journey, and it is going to be a long, rough road, but she is going to make it there by the end. She is going to be so happy that she has made this choice! I hope that the Branch can get behind her and show their love for her. I am positive that it will happen…because this branch is special! Colvin was not baptized this last Sunday because he was not able to live (completely) the commandments. He set another date for himself on August 25th, I really hope that I am still here when he is baptized! He is doing all of this for the right reasons, he was a sincere desire to come closer to Jesus Christ. And he knows that this will happen. We just have to smooth out some of the rough edges first. He is wonderful!  We have started to teach Neville again, and oh, how  I love him! He told me this week that I need to find a nice, black guy to marry from the islands. haha! I guess we will see what happens. He has finally (genuinely) committed to read the Book of Mormon…which is a HUGE step for him. We are getting him the CD’s so that he can listen to them while he goes to work. I hope that he can realize how this gospel will bring him closer to his family. He’s going to be baptized someday!
 
Questions!
 
1.  Did you get an a/c put in your apartment?  Is it helping?
 
We did! It is upstairs (which is a bummer because we sleep downstairs now…long story…) but it is gradually becoming cooler in our apartment. 🙂
2.  When have you felt joy in this last week?
 
It’s funny that you ask that question. I have been praying every single day this week for me to find joy in the work. And, I have felt joy every single day. Now, I’m not always perfectly bubbly and happy 24/7, but I am beginning to see the joy in the little things. Like…when we literally had no food in our apartment…and so we ordered gluten-free pizza from Dominos for dinner! The crazy drunk man that we talk to on the corner, seeing our investigators live and keep commitments, seeing the beautiful sunrises, everything is worth it.
3.  How is Sister Wester doing in her new area? 
 
Sister Wester is really struggling. Her area is very difficult, and she is having some financial issues. They shut down her credit card in the States, and she needs so many things! I’m just trying to support and encourage her. She is my older sister, and I know  that everything is going to work out. Keep praying for her!
 
4.  What can we learn from doing hard things?
 
We learn how to press on. We learn more about our Savior, Jesus Christ. We learn how to turn to him when we need someone to lean on. We learn that “with God, all things are possible”. I know that I have seen that so much in my mission that I can’t even name a specific instance when I have had to do something hard…EVERYTHING is hard as a missionary. But, we can all do it. But only with help from our Heavenly Father!
 
Hey, I LOVE YOU ALL! I pray for you all every day, and I know  miracles are coming your way! Till Next week!
 
Love forever,
Sister Colvin.
 
p.s. Sorry for this short-ish email…my companion wants to go to Hamilton to play sports…….joy…because I love sports so much! haha. 🙂
 
Leave a Reply

