More miracles in little Simcoe, CA

My dearest family, friends, and people that I will probably never meet,
 
Hello from the crazy bountiful land of Simcoe! This week has been one of miracles, frustrations, disappointments, love, sickness, sweat, breakdowns, and pure happiness. Such is missionary work. I am slowly learning that when everything is going really wonderful…the Lord is going to humble you and put you in your place. Probably several times until we get it through our thick skulls. But, I love being a missionary. I know that I haven’t been out very long, but I cannot even imagine coming home and coming back to “real life”. Ah! I am so scared! Well, that is a long ways away. So, it’s all good for now.
 
I got a lovely sickness this week! On Friday, I was blessed to have a fever of 102.3 degrees Fahrenheit. I was achy all over, had that fever, and had a bad case of the dizzies and chills.I also threw up twice. It was wonderful. I loved it so much. NOT. The thing is, you just still have to keep on trucking. We met with people, I took Ibuprofen, I survived. I finally humbled myself and called the mission nurse on Saturday and talked to her about it. She thought that I had strep throat. That was probably because of the white sores on my tonsils. Imagine that. She told me not to go to church. Oops. We had to talk in Sacrament Meeting and teach Gospel Principles. We went to church.The fever continued until late Saturday night, and then on Sunday I just felt like junk. I had a terrible headache and had no energy. Sister Rees (the mission nurse) told me to take a rest on Sunday, or else it would just keep getting worse. So, I did. And I felt better. We then went out tracting! Whoopie! I don’t have a fever today, and I am feeling better, so for now, I’m not heading to a doctor anytime soon. I’ll keep you updated on that. 🙂
 
We have seen SO MANY MIRACLES THIS WEEK. We received a random text message from this woman in Calgary that said we should go visit one of her high school friends in our area. She had already talked to her about missionaries coming over and her friend really wanted us to come. We went and met a lovely woman! Her name is Jessica and she is 25. She has 2 beautiful young children (that are wildly rambunctious and adorable) and a lovely little farm. She runs a small daycare during the day. She does not live with her husband at the moment, because he went back to drugs(after going to rehab several years ago). She really wants their family to stay together, though, and she told us that she knows that this message that we have will bless her family and bring them closer together. Her husband also has expressed a sincere interest in learning more about the gospel of Jesus Christ, we just haven’t been able to meet with him yet. We talked about the Spirit, and she said that she felt it as we were talking. As we recited the First Vision, she said that she believes it, and she knows that it is true. She readily and wholeheartedly accepted an invitation to be baptized on June 30th. She is so excited to read the Book of Mormon and knows that she wants her family to be together for eternity. The Lord is wonderful! Emily, also has a date for June 30th. She is looking very solid for that date. She is integrating with the ward well. We have taught the Plan of Salvation, The Restoration, and the Law of Chastity. We are also meeting with all of our progressing investigators at least three times this week so that they can be prepared for baptism on their dates. Mark has a date for June 30th. We are going to fast and pray with him to see if he can be ready by that date. He has come to church twice, and has read and prayed. The only thing is, he has a serious addiction problem that he might need to get more help with before he can be baptized. He is looking to go to long-term rehab, and so his plans are up in the air right now. He really enjoyed church and told us that he had good feelings while he was there. So, everything is looking really well for all of our investigators! We have had some investigators drop us this week, but we are definitely reaping the harvest in Simcoe! This wonderful area has so much potential and so much growth in store. I hope that it continues to blossom into a solid area. I know that it will! I hope that I can stay here for a long time, because I have grown so attached to the people and the area. Pray for me AND Sister Wester to stay. Haha. All I can say is that the prayers of the righteous are answered. 🙂
 
Question Time!
 
1.  Does your mission have the 12 week-new to the mission training program for greenies?  Does your trainer do that?  What is that like?
 
Yes! Your trainer does that with you. It’s basically like a little tiny manual that they teach you from. You do a lot of roleplay, and you watch the District a lot. You have an extra hour of study in the morning to do training! It really brings you closer to your trainer as well, at least it helped Sister Wester and me 🙂 I liked it a lot. And, I am not going to lie…I miss studying for an extra hour in the morning. I like study. 2.  Question from two weeks ago…Why are you serving a mission?
 
I don’t know if I can answer that question in a couple of sentences. All I know is that there are people in Ontario, Canada that need to hear the gospel from me. I need to have certain mission companions. I need to learn from certain district leaders and zone leaders. I know that the Lord has an intricate, individualized plan for ME. I can’t fully comprehend it, but I know that this is part of my plan that he has for me. I want to help my brothers and sisters come into the fold of God by helping them receive the restored gospel of Jesus Christ. I want to be a bright light to those that need hope. I want to fully keep the promise that I made at baptism to “mourn with those that mourn and comfort those that stand in need of comfort”. I want to be a true disciple of Jesus Christ. 3.  Have you had your second Hep A shot?  If not, what is your plan to have that happen?
 
Uh…no…my bad…I forgot…kind of…not really…I HATE SHOTS…I’ll call Sister Rees…sometime…soon…haha. 🙂
 
Anyway, it’s that time again. Time to say goodbye! Haha. Not really, we all said goodbye a long time ago. 🙂 But, I do love you all and I pray for you every single day! I love you! Keep the faith! Thinking about you in Canada!
 
Love always,
Sister Colvin 🙂
 
 
Leave a Reply

