Striving for Excellence!

My dearest family, friends, and random people that I’ve never talked to,

I can’t believe that another week has already past! It literally just feels like yesterday that I was getting off the plane in Toronto…and mentally freaking out. I haven’t gotten off a plane recently…but mentally freaking out? Eh. That’s part of being a missionary.
 
Simcoe is having beautiful weather! It hasn’t gotten too hot yet, and I am not looking forward to those long…sweaty days. Any suggestions on how to keep cool in humid weather?
 
This week has been very good, but quite frustrating at the same time. About 80% of our appointments fell through. I HATE WHEN APPOINTMENTS FALL THROUGH. But, I have learned many things from having those appointments bomb. Uno, the Lord wants you to be in one place at a certain time…that might mean that your appointments have to fall through. Dos, people have their agency. Tres…the Lord is teaching me patience. Which is difficult. But good. I’m not complaining… 🙂 We came SO close to achieving the Standards of Excellence this week. We needed one new investigator and one more with a baptismal date. It is quite disheartening to come so close to a goal that you have had for a while…and not make it. Fortunately, we have every single week to reach this goal…so we are GOING TO HIT STANDARDS THIS WEEK. Our investigators are doing well…the ones that we do have. We have cleaned out our teaching pool this week. And we have several “DO OR DIE” lessons planned out this week. Neville…is one of those lessons. It’s so hard to see people that you’ve come to care about, and they have so much potential…not keep commitments. We don’t think that he is ready. And we don’t want to push him anymore. 😦 Emily has a baptismal date of May 12th. She is looking pretty solid for that day, we’re just concerned about the Word of Wisdom and the Law of Chastity. Ward will not set a date. BUT he has been reading and is in 2nd Nephi. He is showing great potential as well, and we hope that he realizes that this message is going to bless him and his 5 year old son.  Sorry for all of the Caps lock…it’s my drama queen coming out. 🙂
 
A few items of business…Mother’s Day is coming up…THAT means that I get to skype with my family! So, family, you should get a webcam and skype. Because I would love to see your smiling faces as WELL as being able to talk to you. We are on Eastern Standard Time. I will call you on Saturday (hopefully) to make sure that everything is set-up and the time is right. My time to talk to you is from 3:00 pm to 4:00 pm. I don’t know that time that is for you guys…that’s just the time it would be for here. We are skyping at a member’s house. I really hope that we can get this all figured out. Because that would be really cool. 🙂
 
We went on exchanges 2 weeks ago…and I forgot to tell you all about it! I went to Hamilton to work with Sister Williams. She is an amazing missionary…just very…intense. Which isn’t bad, just very different from my amazing trainer *duh duh duh* Sister Wester! I learned a lot about how it is going to be on the rest of my mission and how different companions affect the work, etc. I don’t want to talk to much about it, but I am very grateful for that experience! Street Contacting in big cities….is different….you meet a lot of weird people…
 
Question Time! 🙂
 
What kinds of things do you shop for in Hamilton?  What did you buy? 
We went and shopped for clothes. I didn’t buy anything. 🙂
When are transfers and do you think you will stay in Simcoe?  Does your mission president tend to leave people in areas for awhile or move them around? 
 
Transfers are on May 19th. I have no idea whether or not that I will stay in Simcoe. President Scott is “known for whitewashing and changing things up a lot…and doing crazy stuff” (Sister Wester). I guess we will see what happens…
Do you ever hear about news in the United States?  What about happenings in Canada? 
 
Not really. We did hear about the Boston marathon from a member. But, we are pretty isolated with everything that has been going on. Both in the States and in Canada. President Scott (at interviews this week) did talk to my zone about being aware and safe in the surroundings that we are in. He didn’t tell us details about anything, but he said that ever since the marathon there have been some crazy things happening around the world. What is your favorite thing about serving in a Branch?  How about your least favorite thing?
 
I like how small it is. But I also hate how small it is. If someone doesn’t feel welcome, there aren’t that many people to “send to them” to help them become more integrated into the branch. Everyone knows each other so well, and there is so much love in this branch. We are so blessed to be here. And to be the ones to help this branch really “jump-start” their member missionary work.
What two things have you learned since being on a mission that have changed you the most?
 
This is a pretty hefty question that I will think about and answer next week. Deal? 🙂
 
I came across a scripture this week that I thought I would share with you. It is 1 Nephi 13:37. “And blessed are they who shall seek to bring forth my Zion at that day, for they shall have the gift and the power of the Holy Ghost: and if they endure unto the end they shall be lifted up at the last day, and shall be saved in the everlasting kingdom of the Lamb; and whoso shall publish peace, yea, tidings of great joy, how beautiful upon the mountains shall they be”. What a great promise that is to all of us! If we seek to bring forth Zion (in whatever way we can) and endure to the end…we shall be lifted up at the last day! We will be able to live with our beloved Father again. I know that I want to live with him again. I want to be able to talk with him and tell him all about what I’ve learned and how grateful I am for him and his plan for me. Pray a lot. He definitely wants to hear from you!
 
I better get running…we don’t have any dinner appointments this week…so we’re going to go buy lots of food. 🙂
 
I love you all, and I hope that you are all doing wonderfully! I know that if you read the scriptures and pray about it, you will be happier and things will go more smoothly in your life. Sorry for this jumbled email…lack of sleep is catching up to me. 🙂
 
LOVE YOUS! [It’s a Canadian thing….]
 
Sister Colvin
 
Leave a Reply

