Rain, Rain, Go Away! and….8 is great!

My wonderful family, friends, and acquaintances,
 
Greetings from the RAINY land of Simcoe. It has rained almost every single day this week. And…it’s not like “Idaho rain”. This is RAIN…rain. If that makes sense…We do love the rain, though. It’s just really hard when you have to go tracting and be outside a lot of the day. Hopefully it should be warming up, and then maybe we won’t have to wear multiple layers anymore *crossed fingers*
 
Well, last week I mentioned that we all were going to see some miraculous things happen here in Simcoe, Ontario, Canada. Things have happened! The Lord is DEFINITELY hastening his work. We have been specifically praying to find more people to teach. We dropped Josh because we did not feel comfortable with him. Sometimes the Lord gives you those feelings because he is telling you, “Don’t do it”. As I related last week,we struggled with finding new investigators and meeting with the investigators that we do have. We prayed a LOT and sincerely asked Heavenly Father to help us in this work and to lead us to the people that were ready and prepared. Well, this week we found EIGHT new investigators. It was such a miracle. Isn’t it amazing how the Lord takes care of each of his individual children? Their names are Judy (member referral), Blondel(tracting), Amber and Trevor (member referral), Paul(tracting), Dillon, Emily, and Brittney(member referral). We are SO blessed to have been able to find them. Now, I really don’t have time to keep up with “informing” ya’ll with each individual investigator. But, I will tell you more about Neville and James. We called James and this lady at the group home told us that he was “never interested and doesn’t want to meet with us”. What now? James has quit smoking and drinking ever since he met with us and he always expresses gratitude for us when we meet with him. There is something going on there that we are not quite sure about. We’re going to let it sit for a couple of days and see what happens. Neville…is awesome. He is praying, but he’s still struggling for praying about specific things. He is progressing a little but more each time that we meet with him. We’ve decided that he just needs to be baptized. 🙂
 
Sad story last night…Neville had us over for dinner. Now, Trinidadian food has a lot of spices…and you kind of have to eat a little but at a time. We were talking about faith and prayer and getting specific answers, and Sister Wester says…”Okay. Well, we better go. Can we leave you with a prayer?” I was really confused because it was so sudden, but I just went with the flow. We get outside and Sister Wester expresses the need to go home. She got really sick from his food. She threw-up and did NOT feel very well last night. It was really sad! She is feeling better today, though. 🙂
 
Question time!
 
What is the thing you miss the most about the U.S.? 
 
I honestly don’t know. I’m going to have to answer that question next week.
 
(What is the thing you love most about Canada? (Besides the people…because that is so cliché.) 
 
CHOCOLATE. Their chocolate is FAR superior than the States. I’m just saying.
 
What is your favorite chapter in Preach My Gospel?
 
My purpose as a Missionary. It helps me be able to see “the big picture”. But PMG is the bomb. The end.
 
Is it finally spring in Simcoe? 
 
I will withhold comments. Because every time I say that it might be Spring…it snows.
 
How often do you see or have contact with your mission president/wife?
 
Hardly ever.
Why does Sis. Wester sleep with the phone under her pillow? 
 
The phone has the alarm on it, and it goes off at 6 AM every morning…to go running…yea… 😛 She doesn’t trust me with the phone, because she thinks that I will change the alarm…so that we don’t have to go running…She’s right.
 
I have been so bad at birthdays! I am so sorry! Happy Birthday to Grandma Evans, Uncle Russ, Bishop Magleby, Grandma Colvin, and Erin Burgener! You are all such mighty forces in my life and I count myself blessed to learn from you and get to know you. I hope that your day(s) were so wonderful. 🙂 Happy Birthday again!
 
I love this quote…” I am only one but I am one. I cannot do everything but I can do something. And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do.”. I love this quote so very much! All we can do is try our best and not let our weaknesses get in the way of what we can do!
 
I love you all very much, and I cannot wait to hear from you all next week. Choose the right! The Gospel is true! Be obedient!
 
Love always,
Sister Colvin
Leave a Reply

