No transfer yet! At least 6 more weeks in Simcoe…

My dearest family, friends, and wonderful people that I hope someday to meet,
 
After a very long and stressful day yesterday (in anticipation of our transfer calls), we are staying here in Simcoe for at least 6 more weeks! I am so excited to stay and hit the pavement, and find those people that are ready now to hear the gospel. I am so grateful for this chance, and we are going to PUSH forward with faith. We have set some goals in PURE faith, but we know that they are possible if we fully rely on Heavenly Father. Be prepared to see more amazing miracles happen in Simcoe. 🙂
 
Wasn’t General Conference absolutely amazing? It was exactly what I needed. The spiritual boost that you get from listening is absolutely astounding! I had some very specific, personal questions that I wrote down in preparation to listen to the speakers. ALL of them were answered. I don’t know if any of you have done that, but I know that if you have that faith that they will be answered, they will be. “If ye will have faith in me ye shall have power to do whatsoever thing is expedient in me”. [Moroni 7:33] The Lord answers his children’s prayers. It may not be in the way that we would like it to be, but he does. We just have to believe that he will answer. I testify that he knows each of us individually. He knows our strengths and our weaknesses. He WANTS to answer us, but if we don’t believe that he can…how can he help us? Have a KNEELING prayer every single day in supplication to your Heavenly Father. The only time in the scriptures where we see how the Savior prayed was in the Garden of Gethsemane–he knelt. When we kneel we feel closer to Heavenly Father and the respectfulness that a prayer really is. We are literally having a conversation with our beloved Father. He wants to hear from us. I know that kneeling while I pray has really blessed and changed my life. It’s definitely strengthened my relationship with my Heavenly Father. I love him so much!
 
On another note, it’s been kind of a hard week here in Simcoe. About eighty percent of our appointments fell through–whether it was the member that was supposed to go with us, or the investigator themselves. I feel as if the Lord was teaching me a lesson. We were coming off of this “happy place” last week. We had a baptism, we had investigators that were keeping commitments, everything was going perfectly. I needed this week to teach me a couple of things. It’s not MY work. It is the Lord’s. If we don’t involve the Lord in this work always, we are not going to be as successful or feel as good about what we have been doing. We will achieve greater happiness when we know that the Lord is pleased with our efforts. That is something that I am going to work on this next week–to involve the Lord in everything that I do. 🙂
 
Our investigators are wonderful people…as always. But, as you can tell from the above paragraph, it’s been a rough week. Neville bombed our appointment because he went to another church. We don’t quite understand him. But he really is progressing and praying every day. He just will NOT pray about a specific date to be baptized. We are meeting with him next week and we will address his concerns and questions, and hopefully he will realize the importance of the gospel. Sandra asked us to come back in a couple of weeks. [In other words, don’t come back for a while]. We met with James once this week, and he has completely stopped smoking and drinking. This is a vast improvement! However, because he was addicted to Oxycotin for 15 years, his brain process is very slow. He doesn’t remember what we teach him. He remembers some things if we go over them very slowly and repeat it several times. We are worried that if he does make it to the baptismal interview–that he won’t pass. But that is a little ways away. Zelda is doing great! She is being confirmed this Sunday and
she really enjoyed General Conference. Our biggest concern is that she is plateauing. We want her to continue to learn and progress. As we all should be! Wendey is meeting with the Elders in Orillia now! We are so happy that they got in contact with her. She is awesome, and we hope that she continues to take those steps toward baptism. Now…Josh is our new investigator this week. The only thing is…he is strange. That is all there is to say about him. He also takes the Bible very literally. As in, he feels that women are very inferior to men and that they should not teach men anything,etc. We don’t quite know what to do with him, because we feel like we met him for a reason…it’s just really weird to teach someone that doesn’t believe that you can teach them…because women are weaker…yea…Any advice on this one?
 
Question Time!
 
Okay…question time: 1.  What was your favorite talk during General Conference?   Why?  
 
I don’t even think that I can name one. I loved President Uchtdorf’s because Sister Wester and I had just had a discussion about light a few days earlier. It just reaffirmed our testimony’s and helped us understand more about the light of Christ and how we are all filled with infinite light! More about conference later. but, yes, Elder Holland is a gospel rock star.
 
2.  What is your branch like? 
 
It is very small and very old. The same people have  been here for years and years, and so it is hard for new people to come in, because the relationships are already so tight and close. But, I really do love this branch. One of our focuses this transfer will be on involving the members in the branch a lot more, so that we can develop that closer relationship with them. We feel that once we do that, we will have more investigators than we can handle. 🙂
3.  What is Simcoe like? 
 
It is the Ririe/Blackfoot of Canada.
 
4. Can you tell us a little more about the new sister missionary leadership positions?  Is it like ZLs for the gals?
 
We haven’t heard anything about these positions! Can you fill us in? Is it on lds.org? 5.  From Caleb…What kind of car do you drive? 
 
I drive a Chevy Cobalt. 🙂
 
As I mentioned earlier, General Conference was amazing! One thing that Elder Holland said really struck a chord with me.
 
“Imperfect people are all God has ever had to deal with.”
 
We are not perfect. Nobody is. I feel as if sometimes I think others are. But, they’re not. God knows that we are all going to make mistakes and do things wrong. All he asks of us is to turn to him and to be healed through the Atonement of Christ. I know that when we come to that knowledge–that we are going to mess up– our lives are going to go so much more smoothly. We don’t feel anxious when we make mistakes, because we know that we can be forgiven and move on in our lives to have wonderful experiences…and make more mistakes. How necessary it was for me to hear that!
 
Anyways, I actually had a question and a favor to ask of you. We are really starved out here for musical arrangements. Could you maybe send us some? Duets and Solos,preferably of hymn or primary song arrangements. 🙂
 
I love you all so much, and I hope that you have a beautiful, sunny, rest of the week! You all are so amazing and great examples to me. Keep pressing forward! Have faith! You all are awesome!
 
Love always,
Sister Colvin
Leave a Reply

