A White Easter

My dearest family, friends, acquaintances, and people that I have never met,
 
I feel as if my letters get more and MORE boring every single week. Just imagine what it’s going to be like six months from now…
 
Anyways, the weather in Simcoe is hormonal. I’m not even exaggerating. It’s beautiful 70 degree weather one day, and then the next it’s 30 degrees. And then the wind picks up. And then it snows. And then it starts to hail. And then it gets really hot. And then it’s foggy. Man, and I thought Idaho weather was difficult to predict? Ha.
 
Funny story of the week.  Well, we received a phone call from our District Leader during our study time. He was very sober and serious as he told us that there was an unauthorized call on our phone at 3 a.m. in the morning on March 20th. We were so confused. Sister Wester sleeps with the phone under her pillow, and so how could that have happened? He told us that this could mean that our phone privileges would be revoked for the rest of our missions if this wasn’t resolved. He told us that he would call us back in two minutes after he contacted our Zone Leaders to see what they wanted us to do. We were freaking out. We hadn’t called anyone! He called us back and said, “Okay, Sisters. The Zone leaders are talking to the AP’s right now, but we thought you might want to know the number that was called. Okay, the number is…APRIL FOOLS!”.  If I wasn’t a missionary…I think I might have said some interesting words. He gave us a heart attack. It’s a pretty good prank, though. Gotta admit. Very clever and inventive. Haha. We get a lot of jokes from our district. 🙂
 
ZELDA WAS BAPTIZED ON SUNDAY! (see picture)
 
Her baptismal service was so amazing and she was so happy. The spirit was almost tangible as she made that sacred covenant with her Heavenly Father. She was glowing after President Hernandez baptized her. We were so happy for her, and we truly do recognize that she is a miracle. Can you even begin to comprehend the Lord’s hand in her road to being baptized? I can’t fully understand it, but all I know is that she was a direct answer to our prayers, her prayers, and the Lord had a plan for her. We are so excited for her to continue to progress so that she has the opportunity to go to the temple in one year. If that happens, I’ll be able to go see her enter in to that covenant. And I cannot wait.
 
Our investigators are wonderful, as always. I guess that every missionary’s investigators are the best, but I seriously love them all. Neville attended Zelda’s baptism on Sunday and I think that was really good for him. He had never seen one before, so hopefully that will enable him to set that goal to be baptized this month and work toward entering in to that covenant. He actually talked to President Hernandez about how the Priesthood works, and President Hernandez jokingly said “Yea, Neville. You need the priesthood,eh?” And Neville responded, “Yes. I think I do!” We hope that Neville realizes that Heavenly Father is going to help him be prepared to be baptized. He doesn’t need to be perfect, he just needs to be perfect in Christ. As we all do! James is also doing well, but his family situation makes it really difficult for him to commit to coming to church. He lives in a group home, and he visits his family on Sundays. His family doesn’t want him to come to church. And he needs to come to church! Hopefully he gets it figured out soon. Our other investigators aren’t doing so well. Either we haven’t had the chance to meet with them or they aren’t keeping their commitments. If you all could pray for us to be able to find some more people to teach, that would be great. We have just been doing a lot of tracting and we haven’t been able to meet a lot of people who are open to hearing this beautiful message that we have. It is hard because we just want to teach everyone, but they also have to be prepared to hear the message of the Restored gospel. We will find some people this week, though. I can feel it. 🙂
 
Okay…QUESTION TIME! 🙂
 
1. Did you receive our package?  
The package was so amazing. Thank you so much for the picture of Christ. I pulled it out and just teared up. It is a beautiful picture that I will take with me everywhere! It was perfect. Also, thank you for the candy and the notebook. It legitimately made my day!
 
2.  If you are eating lots of potatoes and rice, are you eating any fruits and veggies so you don’t get scurvy? 
We get by with what we can afford. We buy canned fruit a lot. 🙂
 
3.  Do you think you may get transferred any time soon? 
We get transfer calls on Sunday night. I don’t know where or if I will be going, but…just pray for me! Okay? I am freaking out. I don’t want to leave Simcoe! Ah!
 
4.  This question is really for all your future sisters headed to the MTC…do they really need to take hangers? 
Yes. We had to go buy hangers when we got to Canada. However, our situation was a little bit different because we were opening up a new area and their wasn’t a “missionary apartment” already set-up.
 
5.  Now that the “email policy” has changed, have you found the time to communicate with any other current or former missionaries? 
Elder Robbins, Elder Shumway.
 
Mommy, did you all get my letters that I sent? I sent them about 4 weeks ago. I also sent you a birthday note. I really hope that you got it. I hope that you have a wonderful birthday, and I am so grateful that you are my Mom. I will sing “Happy Birthday” to you from Canada on April 6th. I love you!
 
During my personal study this week, I have really been focusing on my purpose as a missionary. What is my role in helping bring others unto Christ? I found this scripture in Alma 17:11 that I really love, “Go forth among the Lamanites[Canadians], thy brethren, and establish my word; yet ye shall be patient in long suffering and afflictions, that ye may show forth good examples unto them in me, and I will make an instrument of thee in my hands unto the salvation of many souls.” What a beautiful scripture! If we are all patient in our afflictions and are good examples to all that we meet we shall become instruments in the Lord’s hands! How wonderful a promise! Continue to strive to become good examples to all those that you come in contact with, and the Lord will bless you with opportunities to share the gospel!
 
I love you all so much and I am so grateful for your wonderful examples of righteousness to me. You have helped me get to this point in my life, and I am so blessed to have people right next to me, guiding me and leading me down the right path. I know that Heavenly Father has a plan for each of us. We just have to ask him to allow us to see glimpses of that plan. When we see those glimpses, we will be so grateful that we humbled ourselves and asked about the desires of our hearts. He knows you! He knows me! He knows all of his children!
 
Well, we have quite a few things to do today, so I better get running. But just know that I pray for all of you daily, and I hope that you are reading the Book of Mormon and praying with faith daily. Those things will bless your life tremendously.
 
Until next week…
 
Love forever,
Sister Colvin
 
Leave a Reply

